[REVIEW]A Court of Mist and Fury – Spoiler Free

ACOMAFFinally I read this book!! #hyped

My Rating: 4.0/5.0

OK.. Let’s come to the review for this book.. Why did I give this book a 4? Hmm.. I LOVE THIS BOOK! But, here’s a thing… for the first 200 pages of this book I kept on wondering whether if I read ACOMAF of Throne of Glass series (YES EVERYONE!! I REPEAT IT .. S.E.R.I.E.S)
So why did I give this book a 4 and not less or more?
Because, I love Feyre..

The Plot
I feel like I’m thrown back to the state when I read the throne of glass series, but ACOMAF was kind of “TOG series adult version”.. I love ACOTAR because it gives me such an originality which I haven’t found in other books, the plot, the world building.. etc… But reading ACOMAF after my THRONE OF GLASS READ-A-THON means the plot, the story, the character, and everything in there were fresh from the oven. I kept telling myself “NO.. this book was different, this book has a different world, time and etc..” I always feels like Mass will make another book that contain of combined version of ACOMAF and TOG… The romance twisting was almost identical between these two which are Celaena x Chaol and Feyre x Tamlin.
The plot twist was insane.. I did give some credit to that. The ending was flawless, no cliff hanger but we can still see that the story hasn’t ended yet..

The Character
Another main reason why I can’t give this book a 5..
Everything about the nature of the FAE were SAME between ACOMAF and TOG…

FAE in TOG : Shape-shifter, immortal, quick healing, enhanced sense, their “mating-bond”, their nature to protect their mate, board shoulder (for male), main character

FAE in ACOMAF : have magic to shape-shifting, immortal, quick healing, enhanced sense, “mating-bond”, their nature to protect their mate, board shoulder (and wings), main character

Well~~ I have no doubt that there will be another series from Mass that will combine this two almost similar Faeries…

But I love Feyre… She’s human yet having a new immortal bodies didn’t make her an ultra powerful wonder woman out of nowhere . She received hard training from her buddies, she didn’t get all of her power at once.
Some realistic main character always for the best…

I love the other new character in this book. Azriel, Amren, Mor, Cassian.. My feels will always be with them. They’re not as strong as Rhys of Feyre, but somehow give this book such an intriguing flow of friendship combined with respect for their master. Rhys is their friend, but also their master. I really love them.

The Writing
No doubt that Mass’s writing was insanely beautiful. Here’s some beautiful writing of quotations that I like..

Rhys returned at the end of the week. I’d taken to situating myself in one of the little lounges overlooking the mountains, and had almost read an entire book in the deep-cushioned armchair, going slowly as I learned new words. But it had filled my time – given me quite, steadfast company with those characters, who did not exist and never would, but somehow made me feel less… alone.

another one

“A special strength in enduring such dark trials and hardships… And still remaining warm and kind. Still willing to trust – and reach out.”

or Mor’s saying

There are good days and hard days for me – even now. Don’t let the hard days win

Conclusion
From other high fantasy books that I read, Mass really indeed has some special place in my heart. I will always go higher that 4 for her book. And for making me slept with such grieve right after I finished this book, probably I’m gonna give this book a more 0.5…

Some other Photo’s collection for this book

ACOMAF 2

 

Leave a Reply

