JULY 2016 TBR List

July 2016 TBRHai guys~ another type of post here…

MY JULY TBR List..

Before we started, I want to rant first. So, I’ve decided to read Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen because I saw it in my local bookstore and fall in love with it’s Indonesian Edition’s cover. I’ve ended my last June read, and prepared to read this one. But you know what? THE BOOK WAS A MESS. It wasn’t about Jane Austen, but it’s about this Indonesian edition was a mess. The translation was horrible, so many confusing phrase and it’s just…. simply.. horrific… So, I decided to DNF right away, right after the first 5 pages. YES.. that’s horrible… So I wouldn’t recommended it to you, Indonesian reader. Please, Noura Books (the publisher), please hire a better translator or a better editor~!

Let’s get into my List~!

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Northanger Abbey is often referred to as Jane Austen’s Gothic parody. Decrepit castles, locked rooms, mysterious chests, cryptic notes, and tyrannical fathers give the story an uncanny air, but one with a decidedly satirical twist. The story’s heroine is Catherine Morland, an innocent seventeen-year-old woman from a country parsonage. While spending a few weeks in Bath with a family friend, Catherine meets and falls in love with Henry Tilney, who invites her to visit his family estate, Northanger Abbey. Once there, Catherine, a great reader of Gothic thrillers, lets the shadowy atmosphere of the old mansion fill her mind with terrible suspicions. What is the mystery surrounding the death of Henry’s mother? Is the family concealing a terrible secret within the elegant rooms of the Abbey? Can she trust Henry, or is he part of an evil conspiracy? Catherine finds dreadful portents in the most prosaic events, until Henry persuades her to see the peril in confusing life with art (Source: goodreads.com)

My first thought about this book was this book was awesome. But eventually I didn’t have the chance to read this book since the translation was bad. I will bought the English edition soon, I guess.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
This is the second installment of Miss Peregrine’s Home of Peculiar Children. I’ve already read the first book and loved it. The story was begin right after the first book was ended and how the children saved Miss Peregrine and saved them self. This book was heavy though.. Hehehe.

Pain(t) by Jee
This book was an Indonesian book written by Jee. I was interested by it’s beautiful cover. I’ve already read this book for only a day.. yes,, from 3rd of July until 4th of July. It’s a story about love, family and brother sister hood. It’s a story about 2 brothes and 2 sisters. They fall in love in a complicated ways. The older brother falls in love with the older sister, the younger brother falls in love with the older sister, whereas the younger sister falls in love with the older brother and the older sister falls in love with the older brother. It’s starting to get interesting while they finally know about the older sister’s past. This book sounds promising~ Here’s some in depth review about this book.. here

Grimm’s Brother Complete Fairy tales by Brother Grimm
I want’s going to read all of them… LOL.. I will though but not in a month, I guess. This book was a complete edition from Brother’s Grimm Fairy tales. I love the cover and more importantly, this edition was brought by my boyfriend~ He gave me a surprise while visiting me on Gemolong (my current place for work) a long with The Gambler~ I’ve already read some of Grimm’s fairy tales..  Here’s some in depth review about Grimm’s fairy tales that I’ve read.. here

Reflection
Emily dan Elysa tidak tahu apa yang sedang mengancam hidup mereka. Kematian sang ibu dan kepindahan ke rumah baru yang penuh dengan kejutan mengerikan telah merenggut malam-malam penuh ketenangan keduanya. Pengakuan Elysa, itu semua karena Boy. Sosok yang mengawasi setiap gerak-gerik mereka dalam rumah yang penuh teror itulah yang telah mengubah segalanya.  Namun, Emily yakin Elysa hanya mengada-ad. Hingga suatu saat, Emily mengalaminya sendiri. Dab setelah semuanya terlambat, akhirnya mereka menyadari bahwa semua mimpi buruk itu adalah perbuatan seseorang yang tidak terduga sebelumnya. DAn dia tidak akan pernah berhenti, sampai semua yang menghalangi jalannya tersingkirkan.

ENG TRANSLATION
Emily and Elysa didn’t know what endangers their life. Their’s mother death and moving out into a new house that has a lot of horrible surprise wretched their nights. Elysa’s confession, that was because of Boy. The man whom watching their movements in the house full of terror, the man that changes everything. However, Emily was sure that Elsa was writing up. Until one day, Emily was experiencing it herself. And after everything was too late, finally they realize that all of those nightmares was an unbelievable act from someone. And he won’t stop, until everything that deter his will, was out.

This book sounds promising, it’s kind of horror. But I believe that this book was going to be awesome. I’m thinking about reading this book now.

So that’s all of my July TBR List… I just hope that I’ll wrap them up by the end of July and keep on track with my TBR.. lol.. I always mess my list, especially when my new books are coming~!

See you~!

Leave a Reply

